The Dark Monk: A Hangman’s Daughter Tale (US Edition) e-book

I was recently given the chance to do a review of  The Dark Monk through BzzAgent.com and was not to sure this was a book I would be able to get into. This is the second book of the series A Hangman’s Daughter by Oliver Pötzsch, it was originally written in German and has been recently translated to English, I’m sure we lost a great deal of detail through this process. I was lucky enough to have Bzz Agent send me the first book as well as the second though my Kindle. After reading though the first book I could not wait to get into the second.

It starts off in the winter of 1660 in the village of Bavarian Alps. Every farmer and servant stay indoors during the night as a parish priest discovers he’s been poisoned. Numbness creeps up his body, and   he summons the last of his strength to scratch a cryptic sign in the frost.

The book is very fast pace, and keeps twisting and turning so you can keep guessing who the killer is. It’s a twist between fictional history and mystery. (which is why I was not sure if I could get into it, but instead kept me wanting more). The author Oliver Pötzsch kept his charterers real and believable. He did not leave one stoned unturned while writing this book, once you think you know who the killer is the story changes and keeps you guessing. I thought I had the killer pegged a few times only to find out that was far from the case.

I highly recommend this book if you like to keep the guessing coming, and not being able to tell how it ends until the end.You can buy these at Amazon.com in digital or in paperback, by following the links.

The Hangman’s Daughter

The Dark Monk

Leave a Reply

